“It’s exactly the right time for car showrooms to reinvent themselves”

A

Auto Express

I half expected car-showroom confusion and chaos on 1 June – the day sales executives dusted down the desks they’ve been unable to work from for months. But, after phoning dozens of franchised dealerships on the historic Monday in question, this prospective customer (I didn’t tell ’em I’m also a working journalist) was pleasantly surprised by the generally positive responses received. I’ve never known sales professionals to be more fired-up, friendly and accommodating.

That said, a handful couldn’t, wouldn’t, or were ‘too busy’ to pick up the phone. Almost as bad were out-of-date recorded messages. For example: “we’re closed” due to “government guidelines” that, in truth, no longer apply. Meanwhile, I was borderline offended when, at 4pm on a working Monday, I received a recorded rollicking from a leading retailer who insisted I was calling outside normal opening hours. This is how customers are lost – forever.

But my dipstick dealer of the day award went to the ‘salesman’ who answered the phone (so far, so good), before ordering me to E-mail my simple question/sales enquiries to a bloke called Ben, who may or may not get back to me. This, in the aftermath of April 2020 when new-car registrations were down 99.7 per cent year on year, followed by May when they were 89 per cent adrift! Unbelievable.

Also difficult to comprehend was that of all the sales professionals I spoke to, just one was female. But, on a more optimistic note, 80 per cent of sales execs who accepted my calls were on the case from the get-go, extremely keen and hungry (in some cases literally, I suspect) to sell me the model I wanted, not the version that would be most profitable for them. Each was cool with my withheld caller ID, plus my explanation that I wouldn’t be giving phone, E-mail and other details because I was merely making initial enquiries, not placing an order.